Ely Hero Awards 2023 Finalists Announced

The judging panel recently met in the beautiful surroundings of The Poets House Hotel in Ely to discuss the incredible nominees in Ely Hero Awards 2023 of which there were close to 200.
The calibre of the nominations this year was the highest we’ve seen! Difficult decisions were made and all the nominations have been finalised in each of the 10 categories.
Three finalists in each category are chosen to attend the glitzy award ceremony this season, one of which will be crowned winner of each category. The winners are a much-guarded secret so everyone receives a surprise on the night. 
Gill Prangnell, Head Judge said “We want everyone who has been nominated to feel incredibly proud of their nomination, they are a hero in the eyes of their nominator and the standard has been so high, it’s a high accolade to have been considered in the process. It is never easy for us judges because we know some will feel disappointed, but nominees should feel very proud of their achievements and continue being a community champion lifting others up.”
The Ely Hero Awards 2023 Ceremony will be held in September at The Maltings, Ely, where business sponsors, finalists and their guests will gather at the special event to celebrate all that is good in the communities of Ely and the surrounding villages.
The highlight of the evening will be the award for an outstanding commitment to the community – THE Ely Hero 2023. This award seeks outstanding nominees in their commitment to helping others in the community.
List of 2023 finalists:


Most Amazing Professional

Bogdana Ostrowska-Kubik – Ukranian Hub ECDC

Daniel Laurence  – Plumbing and Heating

Ashley Moodliar – Ely Construction


Best Teacher

Natalie Lewis – Isle of Ely Primary School

Jessica Webb – LECA, Littleport

Anna Cameron – LECA, Littleport


Child of Achievement, including The Jay Davison Award

Teddy Woodhouse

Christina Verducci

Caitlin Child

Charlotte Gardiner


The Mike Rouse Community Champion

Brian Calvert – Scout Leader

Paul Briggs – Ely Tennis Club

Kathryn Rowland – All in Sound


Colleague of the Year

Gabriela Szigheti – The Poets House

Alex Crow – Witchford Recycling Centre

Caroline Wren – Littleport Community Primary


Neighbour of the Year

Team D, Witchford

Teresa Sellers

Patricia Canham


Caring Companion

Teresa Sellers

Daniel Apostol

Liz Norman


Smiliest Server

Jade Dace – Coop, Burwell

Andrew Olley – City Cycles Toy Shop

Phil & Rachael Tate – Prosper Cafe


Sporting Hero

Phil Trelford – Swimming & Cycling

Emma Thomas & Fiona Dyer – Walking Tennis

Simon Rampley – Littleport Rangers


The Ely Hero

Wayne Bent – CAMSAR

Liz Medd – CEAACC

Jo Webber – Littleport

Share this